Above: Jade Keast at Valley Heights Secondary School is a recipient of the Wanda and Scott Salverda Memorial Scholarship.

Grand Erie Students Receive Prestigious Awards and Scholarships

TUESDAY, JULY 11, 2023

Above: Erica Englert, Dunnville Secondary School.


here’s lots to be proud of as the class of 2023 gets set to move on to new challenges and experiences on their post-secondary paths. For some graduates, the hard work and achievement obtained in secondary school are helping launch this next stage of their academic careers. Here are just a few of the outstanding learners marking their commencements with special recognitions and honours:

Tatyana Zebroski, Brantford Collegiate Institute and Vocational School, is a recipient of a James Hillier Foundation Scholarship and a President’s Entrance Scholarship, valued at $50,000 from Western University, where she will continue her studies on the path to pediatric medicine.

Caleb Stassen, Cayuga Secondary School, has earned Distinction on University of Waterloo’s Fryer Math Contest.

Madilyn Lord, Cayuga Secondary School, is the recipient of the Krista Schaus Memorial Bursary, presented to a student who exhibits Krista’s resilience, positivity and confidence.

Above: Emma Kingsbury, Valley Heights Secondary School.

Erica Englert, Dunnville Secondary School, is this year’s finalist for the Wanda and Scott Salverda Memorial Scholarship, and will go on to study French Immersion Criminology at the University of Ottawa.

Natalie McNeil, Hagersville Secondary School, is the recipient of the Indigenous Allyship Award, which recognizes an Indigenous student who demonstrates resilience and perseverance. 

Jeremy Hoare, Paris District High School, is a recipient of the James Hillier Foundation Scholarship, valued at $20,000 over four years, and is moving onto the University of Waterloo this fall.

Sameer Abdullah, Paris District High School, is the recipient of this year’s James F. Boughner Foundation Scholarship, valued at $25,000 and presented to a Brantford/Brant County graduate.

Jade Keast, Valley Heights Secondary School, is a recipient of the Wanda and Scott Salverda Memorial Scholarship, which honours a graduate from Haldimand and Norfolk who demonstrates strong leadership at school and in the community.

Emma Kingsbury, Valley Heights Secondary School, is the recipient of the Chelsea Addison Memorial Bursary, recognizing outstanding graduates who have overcome significant challenges.

Katrina Davis, BCI; Kryianna Jorgensen, BCI; Trillium Gazdewich, BCI; and Kaydence Lickers, PJCVS are recipients of the Indigenous Literature Award. This award recognizes students who have successfully completed the Grade 11 Understanding Contemporary First Nations, Métis and Inuit Voices (NBE3) course, demonstrated a commitment to reconciliation, and have been active in their school’s Indigenous Days of Significance activities.

Congratulations to all students marking the conclusion of their secondary school experiences, and best of luck on your exciting next steps!