Trustee Greg Anderson to Serve as Grand Erie District School Board Chair in 2018-19

Headshot of Chair of Grand Erie Board of Trustees

Trustee Greg Anderson will serve another year as Board Chair of the Grand Erie District School Board. Anderson, who was acclaimed on Monday evening during the Board’s Nomination Meeting, was also Board Chair in 2017-18.

“I’m delighted to return as Board Chair and I’m honoured that my Trustee colleagues supported my continued leadership,” said Anderson. “Together, we’ve accomplished a lot in the past year, and I look forward to working with our new Trustees to achieve even more on behalf of our students and staff in 2018-19.”

Anderson was first elected as a Trustee in 2014. Prior to that, he had a dedicated career in education, working as a Superintendent of Education in Grand Erie before retiring in 2013. Anderson served as Vice-Chair of the Grand Erie District School Board in 2016-17. He is also Chair of the Brant County Health Unit and President of the Brantford Boys and Girls Club.

Trustee David Dean, former Board Chair (2015-16 and 2016-17) was elected Vice-Chair of the Board for 2018-19. Trustee Rita Collver was acclaimed as Committee of the Whole Chair. Trustee Carol Ann Sloat was acclaimed as Committee of the Whole Vice-Chair.

Trustee Don Werden was acclaimed as Grand Erie’s Ontario Public School Board Association (OPSBA) Director/Voting Delegate, while Susan Gibson was acclaimed as OPBSA Alternative Director/Alternative Voting Delegate.

Monday’s meeting was also special as it marked the first one for new Trustees Eva Dixon (Norfolk), Susan Gibson (Brantford), Christina Speers (Brant/Norfolk – Wards 3/7) and Don Werden (Norfolk) – all of whom were elected to office during the October 22 Municipal Election. Gibson and Speers are new to their Trustee roles, while Dixon (2010-14) and Werden (2001-03, 2004-06, 2006-10 and 2010-14) previously served as Grand Erie Trustees. The new Trustees join incumbents Anderson (Brantford), Collver (Brant/Norfolk – Wards 3/7), Dean (Brantford), and Sloat (Brantford) as well as Brian Doyle (Haldimand) and James Richardson (Haldimand) on the Board for the 2018-22 term.

Claudine VanEvery-Albert also started her new term as Native Trustee for the Grand Erie District School Board. She was nominated on November 30 by Six Nations of the Grand River and formally appointed to the Board on Monday evening. VanEvery-Albert is not new to Grand Erie. She previously served as Native Trustee from 1998 to 2006. She will represent the interests of Native students at the board table.

Grand Erie District School Board represents more than 25,000 students in 58 elementary and 14 secondary schools within the City of Brantford and the counties of Brant, Haldimand, and Norfolk. With a dedicated staff of more than 2,500, Grand Erie is committed to its goal of Success for Every Student.

More News