

# MINUTES

**Present:** G. Anderson, R. Collver, D. Dean, B. Doyle, A. Felsky, J. Harris, J. Richardson, K. Sandy, C.A. Sloat, D. Sowers, T. Waldschmidt,

Administration: Director - B. Blancher; Superintendents – D. Abbey, W. Baker, L. De Vos, D. Martins, S. Sincerbox, R. Wyszynski; Recording Secretary – L. Howells

#### **Regrets:**

Trustees:J. Hsiao (Student Trustee), L. Kelly (Student Trustee)Administration:L. Thompson

- A 1 Opening
- (a) Roll Call

The meeting was called to order by Director of Education and Secretary of the Board, B. Blancher, at 6:30 p.m.

### B – 1 Chair for Nomination Meeting

Director of Education and Secretary of the Board B. Blancher, will chair the Board Nomination Meeting.

## C – 1 Selection of Slate of Officers

#### (a) Appointment of Scrutineers

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: D. Sowers THAT Denise Martins and Rafal Wyszynski be appointed as scrutineers for the election of the Chair and Vice Chair of the 2018 Board, the Chair and Vice Chair of the 2018 Committee of the Whole Board, and OPSBA Director and Alternate Director. **Carried** 



## (b) Method of Nominating

Moved by: A. Felsky Seconded by: T. Waldschmidt THAT nominations for the election of Chair and Vice Chair of the 2018 Board, the Chair and Vice Chair of the 2018 Committee of the Whole Board, and the OPSBA Director and Alternate Director be made orally. **Carried** 

### (c) Nomination for Board Chair

D. Dean nominated G. Anderson who accepted the nomination.K. Sandy nominated J. Harris who accepted the nomination.

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: G. Anderson THAT the nominations for the position of the Chair of the Board be closed. **Carried** 

Ballots were distributed and the ballots were collected and tabulated.

G. Anderson was declared elected as Chair of the 2018 Board.

### (d) Nominations for Board Vice Chair

K. Sandy nominated J. Harris who accepted the nomination.G. Anderson nominated T. Waldschmidt who accepted the nomination.

Moved by: J. Richardson Seconded by: D. Dean THAT the nominations for the position of the Vice Chair of the Board be closed. **Carried** 

Ballots were distributed and the ballots were collected and tabulated.

T. Waldschmidt was declared elected as Vice Chair of the 2018 Board.



## (e) Nomination for Committee of the Whole Board Chair

- B. Doyle nominated A. Felsky who declined the nomination.K. Sandy nominated J. Harris who accepted the nomination.
- A. Felsky nominated D. Sowers who accepted the nomination.

Moved by: D. Dean Seconded by: T. Waldschmidt THAT the nominations for the position of the Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board be closed. Carried

Ballots were distributed and the ballots were collected and tabulated.

D. Sowers was declared elected as Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board of the 2018 Board.

## (f) Nominations for Committee of the Whole Board Vice Chair

- G. Anderson nominated J. Harris who declined the nomination.
- B. Doyle nominated J. Richardson who declined the nomination.
- G. Anderson nominated C.A. Sloat who accepted the nomination.
- D. Sowers nominated A. Felsky who accepted the nomination.

Moved by: D. Sowers Seconded by: J. Richardson THAT the nominations for the position of the Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board be closed. **Carried** 

Ballots were distributed and the ballots were collected and tabulated.

A. Felsky was declared elected as Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board of the 2018 Board.



## (g) Nominations for OPSBA Director and Voting Delegate

D. Dean nominated C.A. Sloat who accepted the nomination.

Moved by: B. Doyle Seconded by: G. Anderson THAT the nominations for the position of the OPSBA Director and Voting Delegate be closed. Carried

C.A. Sloat was declared acclaimed as OPSBA Director and Voting Delegate of the 2018 Board.

## (h) Nominations for OPSBA Alternate Director and Alternate Voting Delegate

D. Sowers nominated A. Felsky who accepted the nomination.B. Doyle nominated R. Collver who accepted the nomination.

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: T. Waldschmidt THAT the nominations for the position of the OPSBA Alternate Director and Alternate Voting Delegate be closed. **Carried** 

Ballots were distributed and the ballots were collected and tabulated.

R. Collver was declared elected as OPSBA Alternate Director and Alternate Voting Delegate of the 2018 Board.

#### (i) Motion to Destroy Ballots

Moved by: D. Sowers Seconded by: R. Collver THAT the scrutineers be directed to destroy the ballots collected during the 2018 Board elections. Carried



## D – 1 Review of Slate of Officers

Chair of the Board	Greg Anderson
Vice Chair of the Board	Tom Waldschmidt
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Diane Sowers
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Alex Felsky
OPSBA Director/ Voting Delegate	Carol Ann Sloat
OPSBA Alternate Director / Alternate Voting Delegate	Rita Collver

## E – 1 Other Business

Nil

## H – 1 Adjournment

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: B. Doyle THAT the meeting be adjourned at 6:58 p.m. **Carried** 

Director of Education and Secretary, Brenda Blancher