

## GRAND ERIE DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

# Board Organizational Meeting December 5, 2010, 7:15 p.m.

PRESENT:

**Trustees:** J. Angus, R. Collver, D. Dean, B. Doyle, A. Everets, B. Johnston, C.

Lefebvre, M. Macdonald, C.A. Sloat, D. Werden; B. Featherston (Student

Trustee)

**Administration:** Director — J. Forbeck; Superintendents — G. Anderson, W. Baker, B.

Blancher, J. Gunn, M. McDonald, A. Nesbitt; Recording Secretary — D.

Fletcher

**REGRETS:** 

**Trustees:** E. Dixon, P. Fleetwood (Student Trustee)

Administration: Nil.

# A-1 Opening

#### (a) Roll Call/Welcome

The meeting was called to order by Director of Education and Secretary, J. Forbeck, at 7:15 p.m.

# B-1 Report from Nomination Meeting

## (a) 2012 Nominating Committee Report

Moved by: D. Werden Seconded by: M. Macdonald

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board approve the slate of officers as

presented in the Board Nomination Meeting.

**Carried** 

#### (b) Nominations from the Floor

A further call for nominations from the floor was made by J. Forbeck.

There were no further nominations.

The following slate of officers for 2012 was confirmed.

Chair of the Board	R. Collver
Vice Chair of the Board	D. Dean
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 2	C.A. Sloat
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 1	D. Werden
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 2	M. Macdonald
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board No. 1	J. Angus
OPSBA Director/Voting Delegate	D. Werden
OPSBA Alternative Director/Alternate Voting Delegate	C.A. Sloat

R. Collver 2012 Board Chair, assumed the Chair.

#### C-1 Presentation to 2011 Board Chair

On behalf of the Board, J. Forbeck presented C.A. Sloat with a gift of appreciation for her work as Board Chair in 2011.

# **D** – 1 **Appointment of 2012 Striking Committee**

Bylaw 3 states that the Striking Committee is comprised of the Board Chair, Board Vice Chair and four other trustees.

Moved by: J. Angus Seconded by: C.A. Sloat

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board appoint the following individuals to the

Striking Committee:

Board Chair — R. Collver

Board Vice Chair — D. Dean

B. Doyle

A. Everets

C.A. Sloat

D. Werden

Carried

## E-1 Review of Borrowing Bylaws Not on Board's Review Schedule

In response to C.A. Sloat, J. Gunn explained that the ministry has not yet permanently financed borrowing Bylaw #33 and #34.

In response to D. Werden, J. Gunn responded there is \$64,175,035.00 in total.

Moved by: A. Everets Seconded by: D. Werden

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board receive the Review of Borrowing Bylaws

Not on Board's Review Schedule report as information.

Carried

# F-1 In Camera Session

Nil.

# F-2 In Camera Report

Nil.

# G-1 Adjournment

Moved by: M. Macdonald Seconded by: J. Angus

THAT the meeting be adjourned at 7:29 p.m.

Carried

Board Chair, R. Collver