THE DISTRICT SCHOOL PARTY.

Board Organizational Meeting

December 5, 2016 Education Centre, Board Room

MINUTES

Present:, G. Anderson, R. Collver, D. Dean, B. Doyle, A. Felsky, J. Harris, J. Richardson, K. Sandy, C.A. Sloat, D. Sowers, T. Waldschmidt, E. Marr (Student Trustee)

Administration: Director - B. Blancher; Superintendents – D. Abbey, W. Baker, L. De Vos, J. Gunn, D. Martins, S. Sincerbox, L. Thompson; Recording Secretary — D. Fletcher

Regrets:

Trustees: B. Newman (Student Trustee)

Administration: Nil.

A - 1 Opening

(a) Roll Call/Welcome

The meeting was called to order by Director of Education and Secretary of the Board, B. Blancher, at 7:00 p.m.

B – 1 Report from Nomination Meeting

(a) 2017 Nominating Committee Report and Nominations from the Floor

A further call for nominations from the floor was made by B. Blancher.

Moved by: A. Felsky Seconded by: D. Sowers

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board approve the slate of officers as presented in the

Board Nomination Meeting.

Carried

The following slate of officers for 2017 was confirmed.

Chair of the Board	David Dean
Vice Chair of the Board	Greg Anderson
Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Tom Waldschmidt
Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole Board	Alex Felsky
OPSBA Director/Voting Delegate	Carol Ann Sloat
OPSBA Alternative Director/Alternate Voting Delegate	Rita Collver

THE DISTRICT SCHOOL BELLEN

Board Organizational Meeting

December 5, 2016 Education Centre, Board Room

C – 1 Presentation to 2016 Board Chair

On behalf of the Board, B. Blancher presented D. Dean with a gift of appreciation for his work as Board Chair in 2016 and looks forward to working with him again as Chair.

David Dean, 2017 Board Chair, assumed the Chair.

The Chair thanked and congratulated everyone and looks forward to next year.

D – 1 Appointment of 2017 Striking Committee

As per Bylaw 3 "Annual Organizational Meeting", the Striking Committee is comprised of the Board Chair, Board Vice-Chair and four other trustees. The names were drawn by lot.

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: J. Harris

THAT the Grand Erie District School Board appoint the following individuals to the Striking Committee:

Board Chair - D. Dean

Board Vice-Chair – G. Anderson

A. Felsky

K. Sandy

D. Sowers

T. Waldschmidt

Carried

E – 1 In Camera Session

Nil.

E-2 In Camera Report

Nil.

F – 1 Adjournment

Moved by: C.A. Sloat Seconded by: R. Collver

THAT the meeting be adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Carried

Board Chair.	David Dear